Hanscom Area Towns Committee

The Hanscom Area Towns Committee (HATS) coordinates the policies and activities of the four towns that contain Hansom Field (Bedford, Concord, Lexington, and Lincoln) and their relationships with the major organizations that operate in the Hanscom Field area. The Committee was established by Memorandum of Agreement in 1988.

HATS seeks to protect and preserve the physical and environmental attributes of the area in the face of expanding institutional and commercial development, traffic, and aircraft noise. The four towns coordinate their efforts in planning, growth management, land use, traffic control, and environmental protection.

Committee Membership

Lexington is represented by one Select Board member, one member of the Planning Board, one member of the Conservation Commission, and the town's representative to the Hanscom Field Advisory Commission (HFAC). The first three are appointed by their respective boards. The HFAC representative is appointed by the selectmen.

Ref.: Memorandum of Agreement of the towns of Bedford, Concord, Lexington, and Lincoln, effective January 1988.